Long term

Politics isn't just about politicians.   Over the past 30 years of front line activity I have worked with lots of journalists, photographers, cameramen, civil servants , Parliamentary staff plus literally thousands of party activists and supporters as well as opponents at every political level .  Above all as an elected member you are also in close contact with communities and constituents on a daily basis.

This picture illustrates that fact.   I was reminiscing with Andy Halley as he was setting up for an interview with me for Sunday  Politics Scotland, which was filmed  in my constiutency at Colintraive beside the Kyles of Bute and relayed back to the studio by satellite van. 

He must have been on the other side of the camera from me many times over the past three decades first as an STV staffer and then - as he is now - as an independent lighting cameraman with his own business.

Some of those interviews  were very memorable too - for me the saga of Ellisland Farm and the traveling cat is the best, but I will leave that for another day ! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.