One Last Texas Bird

Today I was on my own in Galveston; I flew out of Houston at 6:30PM. I had a great time exploring the old town of Galveston; I took photos of the beautiful old houses and met Lanetta on her front porch. We starting talking about her garden and the fact that they had had a bad hard frost this last winter that killed all the milkweed so that there was nothing for the Monarchs as they travel through the area. Many Norfolk Pines in the landscapes died, as well as tropical trees & ferns. Lanetta told me her house was flooded  18 inches on the main floor during Hurricane Andrew and most homes lost their huge Live Oak trees. She walked with me on a tour of the carvings made out of the Live Oak stumps; she knew the story behind the story of each carving. It was very fascinating. Her home is right behind the Bishops Palace and she said it was the place they used to sober up the priests and next door was the office with a huge think walled safe (now used as wine storage)  The "office" house has one of those carvings in the front yard; it is a replica of the figurehead on the front of a shipping vessel still in Galveston marina. (See the first extra shot. ) Lanetta's house is the blue one in the photo. She was an interesting lady; her life has been one of adventure & volunteering around the world......and she was an amazing tour guide. The second & third extras are carvings of a great dane and great blue herons. The last extra is a cemetery with beautiful wildflowers.

I drove north toward Houston, detoured to Texas City to see a little nature preserve that was closed, but a nice man let me in and gave me directions which trails to take with my limited time. See the marsh bird in the Blip photo; I think it is a Greater Yellowleg.

I even had time to stop at the Sketcher Outlet store to get a couple pairs of sandals before finishing the trip north to the airport. I had a lovely flight now; I watch two movies and wala, I was home. Hubby wasn't feeling well so I took a Lyft home. I opened all the mail and after loading this Blip I am off to bed. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.