tomhutts

By tomhutts

We walked 15km today

EJ and I wake up early. Just like Callum and David, I introduce her to the wonders of the sesame ring. She’s skeptical beforehand, but as usual, she was pleasantly surprised. It is just bread with sesame seeds afterall.
We walk down to Eastside Gallery. It’s roasting hot today so the place is packed with tourists, we don’t stick around for long. We cross the bridge into Kreuzberg and I show her some of my favourite spots. We walk back across the bridge and grab the Sbahn to Alexanderplatz. We then have a leisurely stroll to museum island, where we saw the Berlin Cathedral and the Palace. Again, I seem to completely forget to take photos when I’m with people. I took this photo at the Berlin Cathedral. I pretty much raced to the fountain when I saw it, desperately needing to cool off.
We walk for 40 minutes from museum island to Potsdamer Platz. I show EJ my uni and we grab some donner and a beer nearby, both of us needing a break from walking. We relaxed in the sun for an hour or two until we headed north towards the Brandenburg Gate and the Jewish memorial. After seeing the toursity stuff, we walked to Berlin's main train station, Hauptbahnhof. After a quick google, it seems it’s also the biggest train station in Europe.
We grab a train back to the flat where we chill out before getting some food. I recommend a Korean place that always seems to be popular, despite looking rather grotty from the outside. The food was fantastic and reasonably priced. They gave us chopsticks, which I can use adequately (EJ was hopeless and too embarrassed to ask for a fork, so she suffered throughout the meal).
Ruben texts me asking if I want to go for a drink in Prenzlauer Berg, so all three of us meet up there for a few beers. A homeless man stumbled around beside us before promptly passing out (not uncommon), definitely under the influence of something. So we decide to move to another bench. 30 minutes later, 3 ambulances arrive and begin treating him. He’s carted off and we’re left feeling rather guilty we didn’t help.
Lara had a work event tonight so we meet up with her and her coworker for another beer and regale the night events. We head home fairly early, I have a 9am the next day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.