Pretty Commute

I started a class in a new venue this morning. What a beautiful drive it is to get there!
The day started off in dramatic fashion when the road to Miss E's school was blocked by a fallen tree. We'd had an email from school at 7.30am telling us about the tree but saying they were dealing with it.
I assumed it would be fine by  the time we got there.
It was not!!
Turning off the main road there were barriers across the lane and Road Ahead Closed signs. Shit. It takes a while to drive the long way round.
We pulled up into the lay-by along with several fellow school mums. We saw a few people setting off down the lane which was obviously safe as there were no cars.
Calculating the time it would take to drive round the long way round to get to school and then back to get Miss L to school and then back to get to work I decided that we too would walk. We all got out but hadn't got more than five paces when people reappeared back from the lane saying that the tree was huge and blocking the whole road and completely impassable.
Shit, shit, shit!!!!!!!!!
I was getting a bit panicky knowing I couldn't get them to school and get to work on time when a woman in the car next to us offered to take Miss E.
She and her daughter and their lovely dog had also got out of the car to set off walking. 
Checking that Miss E was happy to go off with a total stranger (she was!) I saw her into the woman's car with her daughter who's in Year 6, got Miss L back in the car and set off to her school. It was only when I rang Mr K a little while later that I realised how bad it sounded that I had just dumped our daughter off in a lay-by with a total stranger!
Once I'd had that thought I had to ring school to make sure she'd got there safely.
The secretary clearly didn't have the faintest idea what I was blathering on about when I said  I just wanted to know had Miss E got in safely because I'd left her with a woman I don't know in the lay-by because of the fallen tree. I sounded like a lunatic!!!
But she was there and that's all that matters!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.