Stereotypes

Miss E's homework last night was very interesting. They've been reading Bill's New Frock and discussing gender identity and stereotypes. Bill wakes up one morning and discovers he's a girl. His mum comes in and says "What about a pretty pink frock for school?"
It sounds like they had some really interesting discussions in class and Miss E's homework was to look at a list of words, characteristics and occupations and assign them to girls, boys or both. They were told to be honest!
Seeing her lists I showed her some YouTube videos. Firstly, England Women beating Montenegro 9-0. It was amazing watching her face as she watched.
We also watched this which ticks a lot of boxes for me. 
Including illustrating to Miss E that boys can also do ballet!
We watched women pilots landing planes and talked about the fact that Papa used to be a nurse.
It was a bit of an eye opener for me because I would have thought it was obvious to Miss E that she could do anything that she wanted and didn't have to fit herself into stereotypical boxes but clearly it's not so straightforward.
I was pleased - and not surprised - that she knows girls can be determined, strong, brave, fast, clever, messy and cheeky.
And that boys can be clean and well behaved.

A few weeks ago when I picked Miss L up from school she said, completely out of the blue, that she wants to go to Miss E's school. This was not ten minutes after having a conversation with Miss E's teacher that we probably wouldn't move her as she was so happy and settled at her school!! 
People are leaving and she's worried about next year rather than being unhappy this year.
She had a taster day today and it was so strange dropping them both off at Miss E's school and going home from there.
She had a good day I think, although she was uncharacteristically mute when I picked her up! It's probably a bit overwhelming for her knowing she has to make a big decision. 
I met Mrs R at Brackley Antiques Centre this morning for a bit of a browse, some tea (and cake for her!!) and a couple  of hours chat. It was lovely to catch up. 
She bought me one of the most thoughtful presents anyone's ever bought me. A packet of Thai basil seeds!!! She remembered my travails getting it and thought it would be great for me to have an endless supply on my own kitchen windowsill! 
I was very restrained in the antiques centre and only bought one teeny little hanging planter set for the garden. For £5. 
Which I then saved in Waitrose buy buying four reduced curries for Mr K and getting a free cup of tea!! 
It's like I'm an economist!!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.