Little Miss Swift

It was hard to get everyone going this morning. Myself included!!
I finally stumbled down at about 7.55am and there was no-one to be seen - not a child, dog or husband!
Why is it in the holidays the Little Misses get up at the crack of dawn, get dressed and get their own breakfast but on school days they're snoring away half an hour before we have to leave and then behave as if I'm packing them off to the Gulag!!!
But miraculously we managed to get to school on time.
Then it was home for a lazy relaxing day after a busy weekend.
A bit of tidying, a bit of laundry sorting, quite a lot of Grey's Anatomy and a bit of omelette making. Lovely!!
Miss E was a delight when I picked her up for rock climbing. She sat in the front with me scrolling through the music on my phone and we had a lovely carpool karaoke session.
She put on River by Emili Sandé and I told her that it's a song that always makes me think of her. I stroked her cheek and said no matter what, I'll always be there for her. I'll never be hard to find, baby. Obviously I welled up with tears as I said it. Because I'm generally completely over emotional!!
To my surprise Miss E clutched my hand and her eyes filled with tears as she listened to the words:
Wherever you're standing, I will be by your side.
Through the good, through the bad, I'll never be hard to find.
I said she should turn it off and I hadn't meant to upset her. She said - and sounded just like me - "no, no its because I'm happy".
When it ended she put Little Mix Weird People on. But kept hold of my hand!
As usual we were twenty minutes early for her lesson so we stayed in the car for a bit while she got changed and then treated me to a fabulous rendition of Taylor Swift's Love Story. It was just brilliant - and a little terrifying - watching her putting so much passion and oomph into her performance. She'll be a teenager before I know it!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.