Liverpool

Backblip with the wrong date, because I forgot to change time from Adelaide to GMT

15 Oct. 2012

This city doesn't cease to surprise me. I remember my first ever visit with Mr H to meet his dad, father-in-law to be a few years. Liverpool had this great atmosphere. I could imagine the Beatles stumbling around and sailors on every corner. I know my imagining might be a bit naive, but I have always like this city. I always laugh that Mr H's family came all the way from Ireland hoping to get across the big pond, but failed and stayed here and made it a better, more interesting place.

What surprised me this time? All these huge, modern buildings between Alber Dock and the Royal Liver Building (foreigners, read liver:[la?v?r] in this case - I don't to be contrary). There is Museum of Liverpool (lots of fun), two huge black glass buildings that look like ships and then on the other side of Albert Dock (where yellow submarines take tourists around the town by water and by road) there is a new concert hall (Echo Arena), huge ferris wheel and a convention centre. All of them very impressive. No wonder Liverpool was chosen European Capital of Culture in 2008.

This picture is of Albert Dock, where I always go when I am here, with the Liverpool Anglican Cathedral in the background. It is enormous! It is the second longest and fifth largest cathedral in the world and my father-in-law had his graduation ceremony there, so I had plenty of time to look around (many years ago now). Unfortunately the yellow submarine (the duck) has been painted red now for some strange reason. I hope that colour yellow hasn't been trademarked.



OK, I admit, we did some shopping there as well. Liverpool is great for it too.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.