Life in Sunny Dubai

By GadgetKid

Tools

Today has been quite productive. I had voice calls with two different payment gateway suppliers and I signed up for a free trial with a third. In the attempt to fill out the online form for one of the suppliers, I had to upload a document that had to be scanned, but to do that, other things needed to be sorted first because, for some unknown reason, the laptop in my main image has lost its wireless connection with the printer.

I won't bore you with the details, but as the printer is at the other end of the flat in G's room, the WiFi signal isn't very strong. I had to dig out a Wi-Fi signal repeater given to me by SweetArt a few years ago. To get this device working (it needed to be connected to a laptop with a CAT5 cable), I had to bring out the oldest laptop in the flat which is the only one that has a CAT5 (or network) slot. I am glad I've got the repeater working again, but after ninety minutes of troubleshooting and trying things, I ran out of time and patience to fix the communication problem between my new laptop and the printer. I had to resort to an "in between" computer that G uses for her Skype lessons, using a good old-fashioned printer cable to do the scan!

Computers. Honestly. Sometimes they are more trouble than they're worth! On another positive note, I dug out an old USB to discover it had pictures given to me by two different people who had taken pictures on the day of my Dad's funeral. I didn't even realise there were any pictures to look at, so it was good to see them today and be reminded of lots I had forgotten or never registered at all at the time.

An expert came with a large injection filled with a gel that is lethal to ants. For some reason, they only like our flat. I have been given a six-month guarantee.

And lastly, as we are studying Daniel in our house group, we searched on YouTube for a movie and found The Book of Daniel, released in 2014. It portrays the book pretty accurately!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.