The first of May

I am stupidly superstitious, but I didn’t know until today that the first day of the month is white rabbit day.
Here is an explanation of it.
“A reference to ‘white rabbits, white rabbits’ is found in the ‘Notes and Queries’ book (a British periodical where experts share knowledge on folklore, literature and history) from 1909. The entry reads: ‘My two daughters are in the habit of saying ‘Rabbits!’ on the first day of each month. The word must be spoken aloud, and be the first word said in the month. It brings luck for that month. Other children, I find, use the same formula.” It was also a common belief among RAF bomber aircrew during WW2 that saying ‘white rabbits’ when you woke up would protect you from harm.”
So here is a white rabbit for you.
Jacob is going back down south at the end of the week.
P.S. I was going to wash my face in the morning dew this morning, but it was frozen!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.