SORRY!

A message from Flash:

Very many thanks for all the lovely comments yesterday about my passing away. Sadly the author of yesterday's Blip did not consult me. I had other plans for the day and was not prepared to follow his ideas. This is not the first time he has done this: over two years ago he got it wrong. This total incompetence simply strengthens my determination to stick around and make sure things are done properly around here. I would recommend all Blipers to ignore this fake journal.
Thanks and love to you all,
Flash

I don't know what to say. Monday had been hell in lots of different ways and Flash suffered seizures each an every time he went more than a few metres. The night had been hell, I had been up with him until 5:30 in the morning when he eventually managed to sleep for a few hours.

But when Angie was up and we couldn't get him up and for the first time he was incontinent, it was clear there was no point. Naturally lots of deliberation and tears but at 11:00 we phoned the vet who said she would come by at 13:00. I took the above photo thinking it would be the last.

And then it was simply a matter of waiting. Then suddenly Flash got up on his own, wandered through into the kitchen where Angie was and showed he wanted to go out which he did and had a pee on the grass. He then lay down and watched his world go by - the chickens, the cats, the horses - all his responsibility to keep in check.

We lay beside him and stroked him. I took a couple of photos of Angie with him that I can't publish as she looked simply dreadful. The vet arrived just as the sun came out, took a look at the "pile of misery" and said yes he looked in bad shape and all the signs we described pointed to him now being in pain. But a last check of the heart with the stethoscope. That seemed to spark him off and he again got up and started walking around and Angie and I just looked on with gaping wide open mouths.

Now, this vet is well known for not being of the "wait & see" type and it was thus astounding to hear her say, he looks to be OK and certainly wants to keep going. Both of us would have agreed to go ahead with the final injection as the vet after a long chat left saying she was available any time should the situation change.

She left and Flash went to the rear of the car "saying" right it's time for a walk, I need to do my other "business". I drove him to his favourite WC spot, out he got and promptly performed and set off determined to do a normal walk. I stopped him after 100 metres and turned back.

And so the rest of the day followed. He spent most of it in the car as he has always felt secure there and slept lots. I mowed one of the horse fields even though it was a public holiday today. The village was up at the fire brigade & village hall celebrating the day around the Maypole. Although not very warm and often cloudy, it didn't stop the event but we didn't feel like joining them.

Farrier Richard came late afternoon to do the horses which was long overdue and had prevented Angie riding of late. Richard had had to postpone the last planned shoeing several weeks ago. I parked the car alongside so that Flash could look on. He traditionally takes charge of the event making sure the horses stand still.

In the evening another 5-minute walk with him and there followed a quite good night going out once to lift a leg. Not a single fit since 10:00 am. Some impressions of the day in extra photo.

Simply don't have any words. I hadn't taken any notice of the medication he had been receiving in recent times but glad that from yesterday he hasn't been getting any. I personally believe that they often do more harm than good. Heart tablets, for instance, may indeed sort out the heart but have such grave consequences for the rest of the body. Now is not the time to discuss this but I have started him back on the old tried and tested natural painkiller of turmeric.

So, from me a big apology for the scare and also for all the kind words. Both Angie and I know it is only a matter of time but so long as Flash is determined to carry on and is not showing any signs of pain and suffering, we believe he should be allowed to carry on managing us.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.