The Poss

By PossMan

Not what I can see

At the moment when I go outside and look at the sky I see nothing but grey cloud in whatever direction I turn. A couple of weeks or so ago Mrs P remarked on a bright planet near the Moon. So I downloaded this free program "Cartes du Ciel" to help in deciding what we are seeing up there in the sky. It's very good with lots of features - far more than I would ever use or understand for that matter. In many directions our view is obscured by trees or buildings so a telescope would be a waste of time although the program can be used in conjunction with one. It'll probably only get occassional use which is why I didn't want to invest in a commercial programme. In the screenshot you're looking north so the coloured band is the milky way.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.