The Poss

By PossMan

Heron taking off

I've chosen this with some misgivings as its not the best shot of the day. A lovely bright day and I decided I had to go out in the afternoon regardless of other calls on my time. Went to the South Kessock car park and walked along the sea wall path to the Clachnaharry sea lock on the Caledonian Canal. At South Kessock took several shots of what I've always thought of as Great Cormorants but another blipper thought they were possibly shags. Looked at the bird book again but I'm still undecided. Along the sea wall there were 4 or 5 herons in the reeds on the far side of the lagoon and they were still there on the way back (a much nicer walk as the low sun was behind me so I could actually see without squinting). I got this one as it suddenly took off into a tree as well as another of it in flight. Other shots of the walk are here.

Added later: I meant to say, but forgot, that my walk had a strange ending. Just as I neared the parking area only a few feet from the end of the path I heard a yell from a woman and then a young deer ran across the path into the wild area closely followed by two dogs. It would have made a wonderful shot but sadly I was so taken by surprise that in spite of having my camera in my hand and switched on I wasn't quick enough. One dog gave up very quickly and soon returned but I expect the other was also outrun - much to Mrs P's disappointment as she thinks deer are fine in the wilds of Outer Mongolia but not in Inverness.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.