Cailleach

By Cailleach

Holding out an olive....

....tub! (No branches were available.)

At the weekend, I was telling my friend Doris about the Great Blip Scandal (one has to make these things sound dramatic). He glazed over listened carefully and said, "It's probably your fault. You were always rather irrelevant."

Bit harsh, I thought, but then he said "No, not irrelevant. Irreverent!" Hmmm....I think he was probably right the first time. (And the second.)

I never, ever meant my upset with Blip Central to become some sort of crusade. I never, ever thought that anyone but my own blipmates would read about it. And I never, ever imagined that so many of you would get in touch. You are all....even the ones who got a bit tetchy on the Blipfoto Facebook thread (not so much of the 'excellent' ethos there, methinks)....magnificent! I have been incredibly touched (and endlessly amused) at your comments, and I cannot thank you enough.

My real argument with Blip Central wasn't so much that they aren't allowing Whensday to go ahead - I had accepted that, even though I still think it's a pity.

It was the tone and wording of their 'reprimand' email that I found incredibly insulting.

Last night, one of the directors (unfortunately not the one who was so insulting!), sent me a lengthy email acknowledging that the wording had indeed been inappropriate and apologising for it, and I'm grateful to him for that.

He maintained that when they ran the survey asking for opinions on the 'post a photo taken on the day' rule, 86% of the community had agreed that that's how it should remain. He wrote that an occasional old photo, to celebrate an anniversary or suchlike, will usually be 'overlooked' but to allow the Whensday challenge every week, would be to go against majority opinion. 

He concluded that neither they, nor I, are in the wrong... and that it's all a bit of an unfortunate misunderstanding. He also said it's been difficult for the Blip team to read so many criticisms of themselves, and for that I'm genuinely sorry.

Whilst I'm glad that there has been an apology for the wording, I do think it should have been a bit sooner.... and in public, with a) a promise to all of you, that we will never again be treated like naughty children, and b) an acknowledgment that we are all maintaining this site. We appreciate everything the Blip directors do, but most of us are shareholders and fee paying members; we keep Blip going and also need to be respected.

Finally, I'd like to say, to the person who 'reported' the Whensday photos in the first place....perhaps next time, you'll have the courage to take up your concerns directly with the blipper who's upset you. That might have saved all of us a lot of trouble!!

Anyway. Enough. I'm not used to posting serious blips...and you lot should be giving your precious hearts to people who actually deserve them!! ☺

Xxxxx


PS I have no idea whether I'll continue or not.....I haven't yet decided. But if I do, it will definitely be because of people like you. ♥️

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.