Is it Twee

My dictionary tells me this means sentimentally pretty or quaint.

I have always been told that putting out garden gnomes is twee. But they have changed. In past times they usually had fishing rods and red pointed caps. Often with white beards and inane grins.

Now it seems they have rather more character.
Perhaps it would be not so twee to create a Hobbit land in our garden. Some of those above could be mistaken for Bilbo and Frodo. And there are others who would make plausible elves and gnomes.

The fun might be to dress up in a hooded cloak and extend my Pacer Pole to its greatest length so that I could play the role of Gandalf the wise. It would be good to persuade the Hobbits that they needed to set out on a mighty Quest. It would involve searching for the Chief Hacker before he and his thousands of followers were able to paralyse the world as we know it (Jim).

Why are you still reading this stuff. Your time might be better spent re-reading The Lord of the Rings.

And anyway after buying those chairs I cannot afford any stone Hobbits.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.