Arachne

By Arachne

Checking out the photographs

To London for the Sony World Photography Exhibition. D'ya know what, I think I might enter next year. I saw the call for entries some time back and assumed I wasn't good enough but I think that was also true of quite a few of the people whose pictures did end up on the wall. Of course there were also some fantastic pictures, but fewer than I expected.

Extra 1 - one of the reasons my bus journey to London took 3½ hours instead of 1½. The other reason was (once the next bus had stopped to pile us on from the hard shoulder 40 minutes later) a long diversion to avoid a lorry-load strewn across the motorway. We came off the motorway and straight into the wilds of a video game: a small roundabout blocked by an AA mechanic attending to a post office van; a woman in full-length hi-vis walking past carrying a sodden dog; a fallen tree, roots in the air; three sheep, a beehive and a house surrounded by statues; an allotment with a scarecrow and a shed with a spire; a huge field of rape, doubtless hiding what I was supposed to be looking for but I had no idea what that was. Mario? A fox? Some doubloons? A Pokemon? Eventually we leapt a level and reached the outskirts of London. Very reassuring - I know what to do there: walk, look, take pictures and, on this occasion, pay homage to the new statue of Millicent Fawcett, the first statue in Parliament Square of a woman. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.