El Camino

By AndrewForbes

So lunchtime today saw me foraging!

The morning was beautiful but by the time I'd completed some work it was clouding over, but I really felt like getting out.

So I went up to Refugio de Juanar, where there are chestnut trees. Beautiful sensation of autumn; the damp ground, turning leaves, and the sound of chestnuts falling and hitting the ground!

I managed to fill a carriar bag, although the exceptionally dry spring and summer has supposedly wiped out 70% of the usual harvest. It's certainly true that today the chestnuts were less plump than normal.

Here with so many evergreen oaks, pines, palms and Mediterranean scrub, traditional autumn colours are few and far between, so it was a real pleasure.

Wishing you all a frightful Halloween!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.