Get well card

A certain young man made this for me and it did lift my spirits for a while.
It seems that my luck has gone from bad to worse.
Dear Diary
On Monday I went shopping and then collected Z and brought him home. When I got in I sat down and started to get pains in my right leg, this quickly turned to pins and needles before going numb, so numb I could hardly walk.
I rang 111 and advised me to go to a and e asap. C took me in and despite there being tons of folk ahead of me I saw a triage nurse who got me onto a trolley immediately and pushed me in to see a dr.
I have quite a complicated medical history and they were thinking that it may be a recurrence of a cyst that I had removed a few years ago from my spine L4/L5. The only way to prove or disprove was to have an MRI which couldn't be done until the following morning. So they kept me in on my trolley til about 1030 when I had the MRI . Overnight however the problems had spread to my "saddle" area which was a little frightening.
The results of the scan told them that it was a trapped nerve in the lumbar region, and it was this that was affecting me. They sent me home. I managed to get upstairs and slept on and off. When I woke in the morning my other leg had become numb also and to go with it I was getting pain in my lower back, hips and shooting pains down my legs. I was worried and contacted The Centre who advised me to go back. Having consulted my GP c rang for an ambulance and I went back.
I waited almost 4 hrs before the ortho man came to see me. He stuck by the decision to send me home and did so again this time promising morphine for the pain.
C collected me. - which was difficult and once home I had problems walking from the car to a comfortable seat where I stayed til 4am. I managed to get to the sofa and slept for about an hour.
So, I'm in my chair wondering what to do next and wondering how long I will have to wait for an outpatients appointment.
Can't attempt the stairs for now so must wait a couple of days to see if it improves.

Thanks for looking in and for your sympathetic comments - I'm very grateful.

Meanwhile N is on the labour ward and should give birth in the next few hours ... Thank goodness for some positive news .

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.