Here comes the Bloosom-1

The cherry trees in the Meadows are just about to burst into blossom;they are so late this year, but who can blame them when the wind whistling about them keeps the temperature at 7°. This blip will be the first of many - you will be bored rigid by the time I’m finished with the blossom.

I trudged straight into the wind chill this morning as I crossed Bruntsfield Links for a blood letting at the doctor’s to check on the efficacy of the dreaded statins I have been persuaded to swallow.

I was amazed to find that having stopped BP lowering pills last year, my BP was the lowest it has been since I was a teenager. Ha, ha, I thought, I wonder if statins not only reduce cholesterol but also have a side effect on BP.

What would we do without Google? The trusty pages suggested that there was a tenuous link between statins and a marginal lowering of BP. Maybe statins are not so bad after all. All that remains is to see if they have had a corresponding effect on the dreaded cholesterol- first available appointment with the doc to find out turns out to be 28th May. Thank goodness it’s nothing urgent.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.