WhatADifferenceADayMakes

By Veronica

In a green shade

Another chilling out day today -- as we couldn't get a return flight till Friday we had some time to kill in Nottingham.  At a loose end, we went for a walk in the arboretum after lunch. It was a good day for it; a mixture of sun and clouds, and a lot of new leaves and splendid blossoms (see extras). A cup of coffee with buttered crumpets at the cafe finished off the afternoon nicely.

In the evening we went to see Yasmina Reza's play Art at the Theatre Royal -- I haven't been inside since I used to go to operas in my teens. The play wasn't as deep as I expected it to be, but it was a pleasant enough 90 minutes of entertainment, with good writing and acting. Plays start so early in the UK that we were out by nine, and headed to the Calcutta Club for curry. I haven't been there before but can definitely recommend it if you're in Nottingham -- the best Indian food I've had outside Birmingham, with friendly and professional staff. It was really buzzing, making us feel we were having a proper urban night out.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.