Robin Building a Nest

Spring has sprung and there is lots of bird activity in the yard these days. There are some visitors who are only passing through, who stop for a nibble. But there are also those who are here to stay.

A blue jay has been sitting on a nest in the prime bird real estate of the yard, which is to say the big lilac bush outside our bedroom window. And every morning, I witness squabbles among the other birds, mostly an assortment of catbirds and robins.

I had just walked around the yard and taken some pictures of all of my spring blooms, and was sitting on the porch reviewing my shots. When I suddenly saw what seemed like a huge bird on a branch at the edge of the yard.

As I zoomed in with my camera, I realized it was a robin, and she looked bigger than usual because of all of the stuff she had in her mouth! Yep, that's nesting material. We later discovered the nest itself in a bush beside the butterfly garden. It looked like a fine piece of workmanship, and a grand place to raise baby birds.

The soundtrack song has to be about building, so here are the Foundations, with Build Me Up, Buttercup.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.