This One Is for the Truffula Trees . . .

"You're in charge of the last of the truffula seeds.
And truffula trees are what everyone needs!
Plant a new truffula. Treat it with care.
Give it clean water, and feed it fresh air.
Grow a forest. Protect it from axes that hack.
Then the Lorax, and all of his friends may come back. . . "
Dr. Seuss, The Lorax

I visited the Arboretum on this morning, and I found the pasque flowers have gone delightfully to seed. They looked to me like tiny truffula trees, from The Lorax, a book by Dr. Seuss.

I'd like to post about whimsy today and how much I adore these little critters. I really do, but I have something else to say today that has no whimsy in it whatsoever. I am sorry for that.

This was also the day that our Republican-controlled House of Representatives voted to dismantle the Affordable Care Act in ways that (should it also pass the Senate) will likely mean the loss of health coverage for as many as 24 million Americans; among them the sick, the old, and the disabled.

The changes it proposes would also facilitate the defunding of Planned Parenthood, which provides health services to many rural and poor women. This attack on American women is unconscionable and absolutely unsupportable.

Note to those who may not have been paying attention: the Republican war on women and on the environment has hit some new lows in the past few months. And you KNOW how I feel about both of those things!!!!! Small but mighty; and now, absolutely FURIOUS!

The point of making health care unavailable to the poor and those who need it most is apparently so that we may fund huge tax cuts for extremely wealthy old white guys. For myself, dear reader, I must admit to you that I am NOT in favor of killing off the poor so that we may save tax money for rich old white dudes.

So here are my Truffula trees. So far, they are standing tall, as I am standing tall in my own resistance to the evil that is attempting to take over my country. Well, that perhaps already HAS, in so many ways. But a bunch of us are doing everything we can to stand against the evil. I hope that you will do the same.

We must fight to protect the things and creatures we love, be it the Truffula trees, the environment, women's rights, or the rights of the poor, the old, and the disabled. It is our responsibility. And it is the RIGHT thing to do.

"Unless someone like you cares a whole awful lot, nothing is going to get better. It's not." - also from Dr. Seuss, The Lorax.

Time to stand up and fight for the things that matter! Stand up, stand up and fight for what is right. Fight for what is kind! This is my fight song. The soundtrack: Rachel Platten, Fight Song.

Oh yeah, and here, take one of these seeds with you.
Guard it carefully . . .
Plant it and nurture it
Our future depends on it. . . .

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.