I Dreamed A Dream Of Tulips

You may say I'm a dreamer
But I'm not the only one.
I hope someday you'll join us
And the world will live as one.
- John Lennon, Imagine.

I finally made it back to visit the tulips at the Arboretum on Wednesday morning, and I found the display just about at peak, possibly a few days past it. All of the tulips are open and blooming now, but the ones that started the show - the purple ones, my favorites - are starting to fade and drop petals.

It's to rain for several days, and I don't know how many more chances I'll get to see the display, so of course, I went crazy with the pictures. I swore I wouldn't, but once I was there, I was practically overpowered by the beautiful blooms.

I couldn't help myself. It was like something out of a dream. So beautiful. I had the gardens to myself, and I was snapping away on the camera. And so now you get to enjoy the fruits of my excesses, if that's even a phrase. :-) I have FOUR pictures for you today!

The main one is a close-up shot of the tulips. There's white in front, with red in the middle, and yellow in the back. I darkened the contrast a bit to get a blacker looking background; don't the reds look dressy and elegant against it?

The second shot is a new shot I just figured out on this morning. I've got the sundial in the upper left - a place marker, proof that I was in these gardens - and a nice little partial Z shape in the path, with purple tulips set off against the walkway.

The third shot is a party shot: lots of colors, all at once. It started out in vivid mode, and I backed off the saturation, but the colors still really sing out loud! That's a tulip party if ever there was one! I liked how the red blooms looked like droplets of red paint, spilled by the painter's brush; or perhaps finger paints . . . dots of bright color added by laughing children.

And the fourth and final shot is dedicated to all of those out there who are - a bit like me, perhaps - slightly unusual. There is always a standout in the crowd, the one that makes its own way, the one that DARES to be different, that wears its true colors with glee. If that's the case, the fourth photo, featuring the single yellow tulip that could, is just for you!

It wasn't raining while I took these photos, but the late afternoon dissolved into areas of heavy downpours. I had been at a meeting downtown, and I had my tunes box on. I was listening to John Lennon's song, Imagine, when I ran into an old friend on the street. I turned the tunes off to talk to her, and didn't get to finish my song.

And then I drove to WalMart to pick up a few things before heading home. The rain was dreadful, visibility was beyond poor, and somebody in a white van came inches from hitting my little Mazda on Benner Pike as I turned left to head to WalMart.

I simultaneously hit my brakes, blared the horn, and twisted the wheel hard LEFT with all my strength and speed. In the end, it seemed they missed me, but I was shaking like a leaf as I got out of the car. Checked the car just to be sure. It was fine. Whew. Lucky me; they missed!

I made quick work of my shopping and was walking out of the store, but what did I hear in the lobby just before the front doors? You guessed it: John Lennon's song, Imagine. And it was at just the right spot: I was going to get to hear the ending, which I had missed earlier!

A man and woman were walking in front of me, and she began to sing along out loud, and with great gusto. How I wanted to join her! And with a special flourish, she finished up: . . . . "I hope someday you'll join us . . . and the world will live as one!"

It wasn't a perfect performance, but it was imperfectly beautiful, and I smiled. It was clearly a little gift on this day just for me; the Universe conspired to place it in my path, and even end it with a flourish. And so here it is, my gift to you as well: John Lennon, with Imagine.  Enjoy the tulips!  :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.