Growing old disgracefully

By GOD

Millet? Maybe?

Started our weekly Date Day with coffee and a scone at Pollok House, then abandoned our notion of walking in the park because of heavy rain and popped into the Burrell instead, where there was a display about investigating the authenticity of some of Millet's art. I quite like the unintentional Warhol effect.

At the Burrell, it's always the building that does it for me, especially the quiet side that faces into the woodland, and particularly the almost unvisited far end, where there are gorgeous leather armchairs. I fantasised briefly that we could judt move in for the winter and save on our heating bills. Dam it, now I've told you our wee corner will be crowded out with Blippers.

Picked up the new car this evening and co-piloted the Prof driving it home in the dark and the rain. We were both rather nervous - these beasts seem to have automated everything. One almost expects an electronic voice to say, 'I see you have a drip on the end of your nose - let me wipe that for you'. The feature which interests me most is the one that bleeps when you stray over a lane marking. The instruction booklet says. 'This feature is intended for your safety, but does not replace the driver...'

Ordered my CDs to be printed today. With some hesitation I ordered 500. Well, I've used 150 in the last year, so I suppose that could be about right. Then the company tell me they will send me 1000 for the same price, it's just that that 1000 is the minimum run. I'll be giving them away for Christmas presents.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.