horns of wilmington's cow

By anth

Hallocross

Popped up to Craigmillar Caste Park straight from work to see the 'Hallocross' taking place. Walked the whole course during the 45 minutes of racing, with an astonishing 70 starters. Cracking course it was too, though in the dark a little less engaging for the spectator, and photo ops came few and far between after one of the riders shouted at me for using the flash. I had it remote off the camera, and had tried to place it to the side, but after that I didn't want to risk any aggro at all, so went in for some light trails and the like.

The organisation was certainly good, with hot food and drink, a cut above the usual fare at events, on offer, and marshals at key points of the course. Got a few shouts of hello as some powerful lights caught sight of me as the riders went by, but staring into the beams I couldn't make out who was saying hello (save when one chap gave me his cycling-forum-persona to go with the hello); but I'm not good at immediately recognising people anyway, so even those milling before, during and after we're a touch lost on me, and I didn't spot any of the few people from the aforementioned cycling forum who had said they'd be around.

So with the racing finished I headed home, slightly underwhelmed if truth be told, but probably more down to my own lack of planning on the photo side, and just generally feeling a bit anti-social after another slightly stressful day in the office.

Zombie rider (the other on the short shortlist for blip)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.