Hillyblips

By Hillyblips

Warbling

Warbler  - warbling as they do. Just magic to listen to this Sedge warbler which was filling the whole area with song.

I  feel slightly angry that the people in charge of Coombe Hill NR have ruined it with their updating and ridiculous accessories to the canal. One case - they have cut down massive swathes of nettles and wild flora and fauna which the insects bred on and lived in, replacing the fabulous wildlife habitat with a low table in the shape of a dragonfly with benches for children presumably, who never go there. The damsels bred in that exact spot - hundreds of them and now they don't - just a handful! I think that speaks for itself. There are other questionable upgrades to this reserve and I find it worrying that they don't get what was going on here originally.  Total lack of understanding!! I am not on my own with this opinion either.

OK getting off my soapbox .......  

Difficult to ID but the song gave him away.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.