Morris dancing at the Open Gardens

Every year a neighbour of mine opens her garden on May Bank Holiday weekend in aid of Save The Children, this year joined by her next door neighbour. I always go as it's a lovely garden to look around, is supporting a good cause and I usually meet others from the village.

There's always a display of morris dancing by Kinnerton Morris as her husband used to be the squire of the team. It must have been very hot to dance in the strong sunshine.

There are always lots of plants for sale but this year I didn't buy any as I'm still waiting for work to be done on my garden (still no date for starting it). The plant stall is in the front of the photo.

There's tea and cakes for sale but the people visiting were all strangers when I was there so didn't indulge. I went home and made a batch of scones.  When F came round for tea we sat in my garden and had them fresh from the oven with a cup of tea. An ideal summer Sunday afternoon!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.