Now we have everything

By Gembop

Dinner and a show

After a busy day at work with SOW's, client calls and client meetings, I practically skipped out of the office at 5:30 to catch a bus to St Paul's to meet Abby.

We've been saying we'll go see a show before I head off on Maternity leave for ages now, and a couple of weeks ago finally booked some bargain lastminute.com tickets to A Chorus of Disapproval. She has a huge Nigel Harman crush and I like Rob Brydon and Ashley Jenson so a good choice all round.

We headed for dinner beforehand and, as it was my choice of restaurant and I'm a big kid, we went to Inamo on Wardour street. I've taken clients a few times but the premise never gets old- and makes for a different blip pic. It's basically an Asian restaurant where everything is controlled from the interactive table- down to picking the table 'cloth', ordering drinks, watching 'chef cam' and playing games (battleships, I won haha). Ordering food is pretty slick too as once selected a preview of the dish is projected onto your plate.

It was Abby's first time and she was like a kid at Christmas. She hadn't seemed that fussed when I initially mentioned it but i later found out that was because she had assumed it was just an interactive menu. Fortunately the real experience was much better- and the food fantastic. Their fruit (non alcoholic) mojitos were also lovely.

We couldn't linger however as the show started at 7:30pm. By the time we ate, paid and she walked/ I waddled to Leicester sq it was already 25 past. We got into the theatre just as the bell was ringing.

I'd purposely ignored all reviews so hadn't a clue what the play was about and it was definitely a slow start. Rob Brydon played his usual Welsh quirky character but Nigel Harman and Ashley Jenson were nowhere to be seen.

We were in the nosebleed seats which normally wouldn't have bothered me but it added to the disengaged feeling. The premise of a young widower joining the local Am Dram society just did nothing for me- the plot seemed predictable and by opening with the end, I knew it wasn't going anywhere exciting.

I didn't say anything to Abby but noticed she was looking around a lot, checking her phone etc- all the signs she wasn't enjoying it either so we did a west end First (for me) and left at intermission. I almost felt guilty but by then backache had set in too so I was grateful to be back outside.

We went for a drink then took a slow walk back to Piccadilly Circus tube. Half an hour later Robin was in the car waiting for me at the other end and I was home!

It was a shame about the show but a really lovely evening just spending time with Abs- whilst I still can!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.