horns of wilmington's cow

By anth

Watching Me Watching You

Another wildlife blip, but I'm quite pleased with this. A walk in Roslin Glen (the promised 60mph gusts on the hills combined with a slight lie in putting us off the first Munro of 2009 idea) brought about looooaaaads of shots, but remarkably little wildlife. It as nice to have some time to ourselves though, no time pressures and just relaxing.

Coming home we didn't really want to head straight back into town, so taking a scenic route Mel spotted this chap. We'd driven past, so I stuck it into reverse and just as we drew level he flew off - but ahead of us, but about 20 yards. I edged forward, Mel steering as I snapped away (straight, deserted country road, but yes, shouldn't really have been doing that...). He let us get closer and closer until we were stopped directly opposite, with my window down, and the camera sticking out of the window.

Damned cocky Kestrel.

Actually, I think he was probably more bothered by the wind than me and just didn't want to have to take off again. Once home the last of my main bikes got the clean it so badly needed; the chickens got a run about the garden; and now I'm just kicking back before getting up early tomorrow morning to do the shopping, then drive down to Newcastle for a family thing for my brother's birthday and a trip to St James to see us (probably) beaten by the mackems (aka Sunderland). Well. Today had been a good day!

The very almost blips till the Kestrel came to play:
Branching Out
Shoe Tree
What's Round the Corner?
Margot
Cleaned Bikes

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.