Skip's Blips

By Skip

Another rainy day

The birds were, quite literally, flocking around the feeders, and they were in constant motion. We never saw even a glimmer of sunshine today, and I wasn't about to go out and stand in the rain for a photo opp, so I snapped this little bird through the rain-streaked kitchen window. My favorite little visitor, the red-breasted nuthatch, stopped by the feeder briefly, but his picture was way too blurred to share with you, so you get this little female house sparrow instead (if my identification is correct). The weather channel reported flooding of the Chagrin River, and from the glimpse I caught as I crossed the bridge on my way to meet my daughter for lunch, it looked very near flood stage. More rain is predicted tomorrow and maybe for Saturday too. Enough already! I'm ready for some sunshine!

Even though the rain continues, the wind has died down, and the clean up from the "storm of the century" continues. Although we live seven or eight hundred miles from the coast of New York and New Jersey, there was a lot of damage here, and some people were still without power today. I got a call from my older granddaughter last night who told me that water had come into her apartment around the window frames and from the ceiling and was running down the walls. She didn't have any power or heat. After a nearly sleepless night, including a middle of the night trip to Walmart to buy extra towels to sop up the overflow, she planned to spend the next night at a friend's apartment, while waiting to hear from her landlord. I can't even begin to imagine what the people in the direct path of the storm are dealing with today.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.