Noctiluca scintillans

When I read about the appearance of Noctiluca scintillans (a nontoxic orange algae species) in local waters, I wondered if it had shown up in Burgoyne Bay.  I was amazed to see it.  The orange was so vivid.  According to the article in the paper, "...the bright orange algae appears following the spring diatom bloom, because it feeds on the diatoms.  The bloom is visible both during the day and at night.  The name Noctiluca means 'night light', scintillans is 'sparkling' or 'twinkling' - a perfect name for this highly bioluminescent species."  (Elizabeth Nolan, Gulf Islands Driftwood, May 2 2018)  I doubt I'll make the trek down to see it at night because it's getting dark too late!
I posted a natural algae abstract in my other blip and an extra that reminded me of a pterodactyl head with a mouthful of weeds.


Just read lovely comments to go with a photo posted on my facebook timeline of former students who met up at a conference recently.  Brought tears to my eyes.  How wonderful to be remembered and acknowledged like this. "Your students have come this far as educators because you nudged us off the tree and out of our nests as eaglets, and we are now soaring like eagles  We all get so excited when we meet up at conferences and we talk like we were never apart. You are the root to our friendships and our balance. We all agreed that we should send you a photo "

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.