Aquamarine/Nanna K's Day

By cdsvfdcs

Petros I

Petros, from the ancient Greek, meaning stones and boulders.  A newish sculpture by Julie Spiedel downtown by one of the Amazon buildings in their mid block plaza.  We just don’t know our way around any more. :-)   H and I decided to do a city art walk today for our walk as we will soon be getting out of the city for most of the summer.   We even went in the Amazon sphere, “Understory’ an exhibit to explain it’s  structure.   The full tour will be needed.  Later.  (the extra is part of the sphere with a doggie park next to it!!)

These “petros” are to represent the glacial rocks (glacial erratics) that traveled thousands of miles on ice to settle in this region when the glaciers melted 14000 years ago,.  We have great examples on our property in the gulf Islands which I’ll blip next week. (Petros II)

Edit: a great video to watch about the making of Petros (10+min) 



Spent many hours then last few days making the Blurb book of our trip to Iceland, the UK and Scotland last Fall which I never seemed to find time for.   But there is a good discount tomorrow so that was the incentive.  :-) Tried the blurb "bookwright" for the first time ...thought it was more trouble.  didn't like the layouts so much so made my own but it was very tedious.  Had to keep changing the font back to my choice.   Not sure I can look at it one more time altho there are always typos.  Hopefully the next will be smoother.   (but I LOVED looking at the photos!)
Edit:  oops the deadline was for THIS evening so I barely made it (11:50)...but it's done with some odd changes to the cover....we'll see...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.