The boundary walkers set off

A rather too hot day today for the Thurgoland Boundary Walk, but so good to be out under a blue sky. I have to confess that the heat and my knees did get to me today and I made it round to about six miles, i.e. Silkstone Common, where AR picked me up (I had done the full 9 miles last Thursday, so don’t feel too bad.)  My aim had been  to walk as far as The Traveller pub where I was meeting Ann but was grateful for the car ride over the last mile or so.  Jan, who I’d been walking with all morning (we were the back markers) carried on and walked this last stretch, but even she succumbed to a glass of beer at The Travellers and we all travelled back to The Bridge by car.  I think this must have been the fastest Boundary Walk for years.  We’ve always been the back markers in the past and always seemed to be waiting for someone.  Today we lost track of the main group quite early on after getting side-tracked by a lost pooch who fortunately found his owners with a bit of direction from us.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.