Common Enchantments

By MaryElizaR

Singing

My cousin Sheri and I had a crazy day of going..to Hunting Island State Park at 8:30am for a good long walk at the beach, then back to the hotel to check out (they were nice enough to give us an extra hour to wash the sand off).  Then we headed over to Bluffton and Hilton Head for a drive by and late lunch.   Sheri's husband Bill has a friend that has a place in Hilton Head so she wanted to see what all was there..we both decided it was not anywhere we wanted to venture again.  Very commercialized with way too much traffic and everything is so close.    At Bluffton we ate at the little restaurant, Guisseppis, which is decorated in Pittsburgh decor..since Sheri was born and raised near Pittsburgh we had a good time looking at the things on the wall.    And the food was as good as I told her it was!!   We drove down through Bluffton and found the river but there is no way to cross it to get where we were going so we turned around.

Then I asked her if she would like to see some alligators in the wild..sure she said..so we headed over to Savannah Wildlife Refuge..about 45 minutes from Bluffton.   We probably saw about 15 gators of different sized and hundreds of birds..mostly egrets and herons, along with red winged blackbirds and several other kinds.    These birds and their friends were sitting in the middle of the road!    I don't think they liked it when I drove slowly through and they had to fly away.    I think they are some kind of tern.

We finally got back to my house at 8:30pm!    What a day of driving for me!    Tomorrow we will really be lazy!  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.