A Great Day Out

It started with a little walk by the ocean. Then my friend K came to get me for lunch and shopping, a routine we have perfected over the years. She is a great shopping buddy, always finds stuff for me to try on that I would never notice--like having a personal shopper. It was a drop dead gorgeous blue day, and we opted for lunch at the harbor, sitting at a table within a stone's throw of the sparkling water: seals, cormorants and diving pelicans. Off to our favorite second-hand stores, where I found, among a pile of other things--a pair of shoes that don't hurt my injured foot!  I had just finished saying, "I hope I don't see any shoes that I like..."  because I thought I couldn't get anything on my foot, and the first thing in the door was a pair of bright Dansko sandals with velcro straps that can be fastened very loosely over The Toe. They call the color tomato!  I've had them on ever since. We celebrated with an over the top drink at Starbucks, all chocolate syrup and whipped cream, possibly insuring that the jeans I found will never fit again. Felt like I was on vacation. It was terrific fun.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.