a lifetime burning

By Sheol

Red Skirt

Tiny Tuesday: Red Skirt

"Outside, that gentle drizzle
Will be moulding to her skin
My wife's red skirt
                                It would be downright
Crazy to stay in."

Anonymous early 8th Century Japanese poem from the Manyoshu

We have a camellia that produces beautiful pink and white flowers for the most part.  But generally, as the Spring edges to Summer and the plant gets tired we get a plain red flower.  Usually there is just the one plain red bloom, although this year there was also a bloom with two just two red petals with the rest being pink and white.   

It is a very sensuous dark red colour and for some reason when I see it, the flower always makes me think of this old Japanese poem and grin to myself.  I will have been married to Cathy for 31 years tomorrow, so I think I'm probably allowed that grin by now ;-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.