Plus ça change...

By SooB

Cup final day

Though the basketball league is The Thing, there's still something pretty exciting about a cup match. The other finalists play in the league above our boys and were, obviously, hot favourites, to win. And the match went to form, despite being even at half time, but our team did amazingly well just to get to the final. And I was very happy to see that our coach made sure every player (even the newbies) had time on court - it's not often they play in front of such a big, noisy crowd, so it was good for them all to get that experience under their belts.

The other team's supporters were very unsporting, applauding missed shots, etc, which doesn't set a great example.

We hung around to watch our girls team's victory, then off with the two pals CarbBoy had brought along from school to the house of one of them for lunch. Very nice of them to invite me (we've never met) and I'm glad they did as (a) it's a holiday and I forgot to shop yesterday so we've no food in the house, and (b) E (the mum of P) is my new best friend!

After a tour of the garden and much chat (including plans for foie gras lessons for me and a lifetime's supply of figs) I had to dash off to prep for a client call.

Town for pizza (thank goodness they were open) and home for a daft movie which TallGirl and MrB would probably have hated, but was just the unchallenging nonsense CarbBoy and I were after.

In other news, TallGirl and Mr B are in London, it mostly rained, and I have so much work to do before Friday that I'm going to run away and join a circus.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.