Wanderings & Witterings

By IvarBlipS

Breaking

Monday was the last day of Glasgow International, the contemporary art festival that has been running in the city for the past 2 - 3 weeks. So I made a trip over to see a few exhibitions that I hadn't managed to visit and which were on my 'wanted to see' list.

First up was an exhibit (pictured) called Breaking in, Breaking out, Breaking up, Breaking down by Lubaina Himid which was hung across the .main hall of Kelvingrove Art Gallery & Museum.

I then popped across the road to see two other exhibitions at the Kelvin Hall. One of these was a powerful yet amusing combination of visual effects and poetry but, unfortunately, not appropriate for publishing online, while the best I can say about the other - a weird pink, blue and purple homage to artists including Whitney Houston and Toni Braxton - is that it wasn't quite my cup of tea.

From there it was a walk up to Glasgow Botanic Gardens but, as it was a Bank Holiday Monday and also a warm, sunny day, the park was rather busy and I decided to give up hunting for any more of the festival exhibits.

I am probably not alone in finding contemporary art a bit of a hit-or-miss affair (with probably more misses than hits in terms of my tastes) but I really enjoyed some of the exhibits and installations on display at this year's Glasgow International. There is so much on display across the city, one can always find something interesting to see.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.