Aquamarine/Nanna K's Day

By cdsvfdcs

A bit of mirth at turning 80

Book club today with birthday cake for Margot, (stripes) turning 80 today.  Hostess Mary (blue shirt) was reading her an article about turning 80 from an old family Swedish newsletter ( the dagblatet). that a cousin of mine wrote long ago and I gave to Mary’s mother when she turned 80 and Mary saved. (whew)   (extra) That cousin is barely still in her 80s, is an honorary member of our book club and she’ll probably read this blip and I hope she’s pleased to see this being memorialized and enjoyed!  2nd extra is the rest of the group today...
Mary also gave us a wonderful summary of John Le Carre’s biography by Adam Sisman…according to her a rather academic study which contrasts with John Le Carre’s own very literary biography we all read, the Pigeon Tunnel.   Nice to have both perspectives....Coming from an awful childhood himself,  family was very important to him.    Anyone in Cornwall know him personally?   He’s too smart for me I think…hard for me to “get” these complicated spy stories but I loved listening to his voice reading it on cds.

To round out this "sociableness " today, we had lovely goodies and drinks and good chat with friends M and T.   I'm apologizing for lack of lots of commenting lately...it's a very busy week...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.