On yer bike ...

Doesn’t sound as that would be a bad thing to say here!!!

We have arrived safely in Amsterdam (after a two hour delay on the tarmac in HK). Nevermind, it looked like a brand new plane (777) and very comfy seats which is just what you need for a 12 hr (+2) flight. And nice to be traveling with Martin again after what seems like ages.

Arrived at our hotel which couldn’t have been situated any better. Beautiful Ooster Park is at our doorstep, and yesterday being a PERFECT weather day, no sweaters required, the park was full of people soaking up the sun and enjoying being outdoors.

After a very quick nap, to put my feet up and reduce my swollen ankles, we headed out for the day.

So much to take in, such a picturesque city. The canals, the fresh green spring trees, glorious sunshine, beautiful architecture, just lovely. And of course, sunny and warm all day.

Took loads of pics, but this one was my favourite! There are SOOOOO many bikes and cyclists around, almost annoying, cause they come from everywhere in all directions. I’m struggling to remember which side of the road I am on let alone look out for speeding cyclists.

Martin and I explored the area around Ooster Park, then took the tram to Rijks Museum, where I’m meeting Hjarald tomorrow, then walked through the antique shops over the canals, to the Flower Market and had the most delicious poffertjes. That was a must do for us. Also visited some cheese shops, another must do, and yes I had a Heineken ... in Amsterdam. The first beer I ever drank (as a teenager), and I must say, it tasted much better than any other I’ve had. I’m seriously considering doing the Heineken Experience tour :).

By the time we got back to our hotel at 9pm we were well and truly cream crackered but thoroughly enjoyed our first day. Even found a cake shop where one or two purchases were made.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.