Red, Green, and Blue

By GemmoMC

Celebrating with the Students

I decided to go to work today on my birthday. I turned 31 today. Time goes by so fast.

I had a couple of options to celebrate today. 1) take the day off and spend some time at the beach (like always), 2) go to work and pretend it wasn't my birthday, or 3) go to work and celebrate with everyone.

I chose option 3. Last night, I went to go get pan dulce for my Spanish 1 students and some Petit Écolier cookies for my French 2 students. It went really well and they were all very excited. My Spanish 1 students were really grateful and I was quite surprised how they thanked me. I really have the best students.

I also told them about the surgery I was going to have. I told them what happened and that I was going to be out all of the following week. They were receptive and understanding. My French 2 students would later in the week wish me well. At the end of the day this Friday, they gave me a get well card. Again, I have the best students.

Anyway, wrapping up about my birthday, Kiersti came into my classroom 1st period and had my class sing to me. Katie brought me a chocolate cake and the department celebrated with me. Fifth period, my student Amy made me a danish which we shared with the class. It was such a surprise and so good. And, last period, I got more birthday cards. After school, we went to CDM to be at the beach for like 10 mins. It was cold and windy. At night my parents and my aunt went to Black Bear Diner to have dinner.

It was a very happy birthday. Moral of the story, better to share with friend then to hide. It's more fun when you let people in. :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.