CleanSteve

By CleanSteve

Floating across the River Severn

We had a quick trip to the river to enjoy the stillness and a drink in a pub on its banks. Epney is a quiet spot most of the time but on hot sunny days a few more people congregate there. I usually visit during the week and often it is deserted there, except for the birds and people working on the land.

After a swift halt I watched the martins beginning to build their nests in the walled embankment of the river. then we drove a mile downstream to Upper Framilode, where the old church sits on the river bank close to where the River Form flows into the River Severn, and where the original Stroudwater canal started from behind the old lock gates.

While Helena sat reading on the bank amongst the reeds I slowly wandered about nearby taking occasional pictures. I heard a warbler and after a long period of stalking it, following its beautiful song and chatter. Eventually it climbed up the stem of a dried reed, which I noticed swaying, and I managed to take a picture, from which I could tell that it was unsurprisingly a Reed Warbler.

Soon after I saw this family group leaving the bank a few hundred yards downstream and floating across to the sand bank opposite, on the Forest of Dean side of the river. I rather envied them. Their dog also swam across  as you might just see ion the picture behind the boat.

When we returned to the car I talked with a couple who both had cameras and we chatted about photography. They may join Blip in dues course.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.