'Wild Child' on display at 'Wheels Nuts 2017'

Helena was running a stall once again at the annual 'Wheels Nuts' classic car show being held where she works. I drove her there early but still ran into a car jam as the hundreds of wonderful old car queued to get access to the grounds. I then returned home and awaited the arrival of Rosie, my sister, who wanted to come to the show as well.

Once we arrived at about midday there were huge numbers of visitors which is very good news as the event is held to raise funds for the school. Last year they received more than £10,000! I think this year will be even more.  despite the numbers it didn't detract from the spectacle of the cars and their owners proudly showing their vehicles. 

There are all sorts ranging from ancient early cars from about the 1920s to quite modern cars. Lorries, motorbikes, Utes, convertibles, steam cars, Cadillacs, Bentleys, Ferraris, Minis, Jaguars and even home made cars. 

I'm blipping this rather rare dragster, which isn't a normal sight around here. I attended drag races in the 1960s at Santa Pod and Blackbushe Airfield as well as motor races at tracks such as Brands Hatch and Silverstone. I always liked cars and their designs, but gradually found other interests once I left my teens behind. But I do find it quite nostalgic and am always surprised by the level of commitment that the owners of the cars seem to have.

There seemed to be a large family here associated with this dragster called 'Wild Child'. They were very friendly and gave me permission to take photographs including their young offspring.

I might have blipped a range of cars, so I've added a few 'Extra Photos'. The first is of Russ, a local classic car enthusiast of more than forty years, and his particularly lovely 'Bentley Silver Cloud S1'. It was built in 1956 and is one of the first of the famous Silver Cloud range of Rolls-Royce and Bentley designs. This particular car has a very pleasing 'sporting saloon design' specially crafted by a company called James Young of Bromley, which had caught my eye. Russ agreed to pose with his car for me after we had a good long chat. He likes to bring his cars to support the St Rose's charity which is very kind of him.

I also added a quite recent'Ferrari F12Berlinetta 2dr Cpe', which was just sitting in the field next to some other rather more common vehicles. It looked stunning and I dread to think what it cost. Also added is a '1928 Rugby Roadster UTE', built by the Durant company in Canada and then exported to Australia, before ending up in Gloucestershire! Very close to it in the shade of the trees was another old car, which looks American in style and reminds me so much of the 1930s, the 'Bonnie and Clyde era. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.