If you can't beat them...

By Jerra

English Elm

Homeward bound.  Nothing planned for the day other than drive the 100 miles or so home.   As usual mid morning we stopped for a "cuppa".  We found a lay-by set back from the road and the brew went on.

While the kettle was boiling I had a look round to see if there were any blip opportunities.  Growing beside the lay-by I noticed this.  A sight I was once very familiar with as the Rural Studies area at work had a fine Elm.  It succumbed to Dutch Elm Disease.  The woodwork master made a fine set of work spaces for the library from the trunk.

I have said English Elm based on the shape of the flower and the little I could see of the leaves as they opened.  It may of course be Wych Elm which seems more resistant to the disease.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.