If you can't beat them...

By Jerra

Aponogeton distachyos

Getting back from holiday always means a busy time catching up.  One of the jobs facing me was a lawn that hadn't been cut since last autumn.  It simply wasn't growing before we went away.

Another high on my list of priorities was retrieving my house plants and 60 sweet peas from Kanyl's tender care.  I couldn't visit without a "cuppa" and catch up.  This included a wander round the garden.  Knowing I hadn't blipped anything I took a few shots and settled on this Aponogeton flower in his pond.

 Also known as water hyacinth  the plant is native of South Africa.  The rhizomes lie on the bottom while the leaves float on the surface.  Technically the flowers are racemes and said to be fragrant but I couldn't get (safely) close enough to smell them.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.