Gently down the stream

By Miranda1008

Naming names

This - I think - mostly fits the requirements for non-cultivated, ie wild,  crab apple (malus sylvestris) but how would you know?  I found it by the roadside so it could have grown from an apple core someone threw out of a car window 30 years ago.  Pretty, isn't it, and there is soo much of it around at the moment - wherever you look, there it is.  When my daughter was little and innocent and I asked her what tree she thought it was, she said a c**p apple tree.  The rest of us laughed so much we nearly gave ourselves a collective hernia.  And that is still how I think of it, because the truth is that although the blossom is wonderful the resulting apples are cr.. rubbish.  I know.  We were rather broke in those days (when were we not) and I more than once tried to make apple jelly with them.  Not recommended.

Anyway, another for my wildflower project.  I have to say this is only going moderately well in that there's no way I can keep up now.  I have blipped far more wildflowers than I've posted and I've seen many more varieties that I've blipped (and I still haven't got my bluebell!). In the next 6 weeks different ones will be coming thick and fast.  So I shall just have to try for quality, whatever that means.

Right, that's me for today.  Keep your spirits up, it's nearly Friday  xx

2018 wildflowers to date:

JANUARY
Snowdrops
FEBRUARY
Gorse (or furze)
Wild daffodils
MARCH
Coltsfoot
Primroses
Blackthorn (may)
APRIL
Greater periwinkle
Goat willow
Ground ivy
Cowslips
Daisy
Common field speedwell
Wood anemone
Greater celandine
MAY
Cuckoo flower (or lady’s smock)
Yellow archangel
Common dog violet
Crab apple

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.