Choose Joy

By Energia

Angle

I was thinking that I might like to do a travel video when I go to Peru so Sunday I took iPhone footage of a dog walk and yesterday edited it. It is my first film so I had very realistic expectations (low) and met them. I bought Filmic Pro, a smartphone app, today. It is supposed to be the best for video. I’ll probably buy a gimbal. I love the notion of motion time lapses.

I took an online class from travelvids.tv, a Cape Town based gentleman. I have this idea to put together a proposal to teach kids how to do biographies of people who fought apartheid before their stories are lost. We could spread the idea throughout South Africa with a contest where the kids could win good gear. It combines kids, history, and education so it seems like I could find sponsors. The man from Cape Town could show how to operate the smart phones, and I already have someone who teaches video production to 6-8th graders.

I put together a biography of my grandmother years ago and I’m extremely glad. I got her history, the history of her first husband, the history of her parents, and many stories captured. I came to understand her relationship (positive) with her second husband. I shared it with a museum. It combined her talking with pictures so the movement and storyline was interesting. It made her nervous to do it, but then she was very proud that the movie was all about her. Her relatives loved it because they didn’t know these things about her or their American family. #lights #CapeTown #SouthAfrica #apartheid #genealogy #video

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.