early one morning

I've been reading a book called "Morning: How to make Time - A Manifesto" by Allan Jenkins. It's all about getting up earlier and the wonderful time you can have when everyone else is asleep. (Except that if they all read this book, they'll all be up and about as well, spoiling the magic of those pre-dawn hours..)

If I was going to get up earlier, I'd have to go to sleep earlier - I definitely need 7 hours of shuteye every night - but turning off the light before 10pm doesn't happen too often. It was 11pm last night and when I woke at 6, I thought it would be nice to have a wee lie-in...so it was 6.45 when I got out of bed and the sun was already quite high in the sky. Still quiet, though, in our neck of the woods.

While the kettle boiled, I went to walk the labyrinth. Jess ran off to the end of the garden. Into the middle, a calm few minutes just standing and thinking about the day to come, then I turned round to see two hares only a few yards away, watching me. That really was magical.

The moment passed, the hares scooted off down the driveway and soon I was getting ready for work. I'll try it again tomorrow - it's Saturday, so even if I get up really early, I can always go back to bed :-)

Have a lovely weekend, everyone!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.