I come in Peace, Lily

I suddenly realised at 5.30 this afternoon that I had a) not done a Blip, and b) not done anything about my dinner, Mrs M being away for a few days.

Having put together all the makings of a sausage casserole I hunted about for a Blip and lighted on this Spathiphyllum wallisii, the Peace Lily, which we have in the hall. I tried a silhouette with the gorse-covered hills as a backdrop, but it looked pretty ordinary, so mucked it about in Photoshop. What you get therefore is what you see, or is it the other way round!

Just so you get your daily dose of useless information, the genus Spathiphyllum means 'leafy-spathe' and the specific name comes from the man who collected it in the Andes of central America in the mid-19th century, Guztav Wallis, a collector for the Chelsea nursery of William Bull. Guztav Wallis seems a strange name for a German, but he didn't speak until he was six, so maybe that had something to do with it!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.