Red Squirrel

By JJRW

Magic Circle

Bigger circle.

Back to Bracondale wood lunchtime - it seems ages since I was there!
Last year on November 8th I blipped Meandering Mushrooms, a stream of 'shrooms wending between some trees. Then on the 16th I revisited them, and boy had they grown! I blipped a couple of them from below on that day as Worm's eye view.
It was only fairly recently I realised that they must have been part of a huge fairy ring. So today I headed back to find the spot where I'd blipped them last year, and located it no problem (I'm really glad I know the place so intimately!). I did some close inspection around there and as suspected, they ARE indeed part of a huge fairy ring. This is one section of it - it started behind me as I took this blip, continues round out of sight at the back of the photo and under some fallen tree trunks. It's not a complete ring unfortunately - but about 2/3 of one. I reckon it must be about 20ft across! I plan to revisit it in about a week ....

I'm really pleased, as I've done something I'd been intending to do for ages, but never got around to. At County Hall today, the RSPB had a stand, and I finally took up membership - getting the first 2 months free and a choice of 'welcome' gifts. I now get free entry to places such as Strumpshaw Fen (where apparently Swallowtails can be found - so an alternative to Howe Hill in my search for one to blip next summer). Happy Red Squirrel! :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.