Sevilla D16 - Oranges

It's half past midnight and I just came back from a night tour by lantern, in Spanish, of an old hospital for the poor. What I managed to understand was interesting but the effort needed to do so has my brain reeling... At one point, I think I disconnected because the one thought I had as the guide explained something was: "Reeses cups would be great just now" ;)

Earlier in the day, a few of us went to visit an orange farm just 25k outside of Seville. In the city's Golden Age (11-12 century), oranges glazed in sugar were exported all over Europe and considered more valuable than gold.  The sugar glaze was from Andalusia's plantations of sugar canes (the first in Europe) and were imported by the Almohars from China.

Anyway, back to current days: José, our guide, son-in-law of the owner, and manager of the orange plantation, led us through the history of oranges (all varietals come from the same four original species). The farm produces mainly bitter oranges, the bulk of which are exported to the UK, where marmelade is apparently a big thing (including an 'orange marmelade' competition where José oranges always take first place). We walked through a bit of the plantation (see extra) while he explained the growing process (all organic). Many similarities in approach to wine growing in my area of France: I think my cousins would be fascinated by it.

He also showed us (and has us taste) the difference between navals (juicing oranges - in the main blip) and bitter oranges. We drank the most marvelous fresh juices and tasted a delightful homemade marmelade (yes, I bought a jar to get me through breakfast while I'm here) :)

Exhausted. Looking forward to sleeping (provided the baby next doors and the bachelorette party above calm down...)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.